Visas and Border Crossings

Visitors travelling into Namibia by will pass customs in Windhoek’s Hosea Kutako International Airport. Busses arriving from South Africa usually cross the border at Noordoewer.

Travelling into Namibia

All visitors to Namibia must hold a passport that is valid for at least six months beyond the date of entry. Generally, a visa is required before entering Namibia. Exceptions are the USA, South Africa, members of the EU, Scandinavia and most members of the Commonwealth (exceptions are Ghana, India, Sri Lanka, Nigeria and Mauritius); nationals of these countries can obtain a visitor’s permit upon arrival.  Tourist visa can be valid for up to 90 days, but it is up to the immigration official to grand the duration of stay, so make sure the dates of your visa match your itinerary.

Applications for extensions of visas can be made at the Department of Home Affairs. Note that work permits need to be granted before entering the country.

Note: Please be aware that information on this page is correct at the time of writing. However, regulations do change and it is important to consult your countries embassy for updated information about travel and visa requirements before entering Namibia.

Travelling Onwards

Namibia shares a border with South Africa, Botswana, Zambia, Angola and has road access to Zimbabwe. Flights and busses from Windhoek connect Namibia to its neighbours and international hubs like Johannesburg or Frankfurt.

Angola: An overland visa is required. The main border crossings are Ruacana, Oshikango and Rundu.

Botswana: To entering Botswana overland via Caprivi you will have to pay a fee of 50 pula one-way and 90 pula return with an additional 20 pula for a one year insurance. Owners of foreign vehicles most pay a fee to Botswana’s Motor Vehicle Accident Fund, which is 50 pula per vehicle, 100 pula per minibus and 200 pula for a large bus.

Zimbabwe: To enter Zimbabwe from Caprivi you will pay a tax of ZAR140.00 per vehicle and an extra ZAR90.00 for insurance. Both fees are valid for one month.

Zambia: To enter Zambia a road tax of ZAR60.00 is payable with an extra ZAR150.00 for insurance. Vehicle owners will pay US$20 in cross border charges.

Namibian Border Posts and Charges

The Road Fund Administration collects road-user charges and cross-border charges to generate funding for the maintenance of Namibia’s roads. Entry fees at Namibiia’s border posts are N$220.00 per vehicle, N$140.00 for a trailer, motorcycle or caravan and busses either N$520.00 or N$660.00 depending on the number of axles. Payment can be made in cash (N$) at the border posts and credit cards are accepted at all posts except Ruacana/Omahenene. Prepayment option are available at Ariamsvlei, Noordoewer, Buitepos, Katima Mulilo and Oshikango.

If you are travelling into Namibia by car you can enter at any of the following border posts:

  • Noordoewer (open 24 hours)
  • Ariamsvlei (open 24 hours)
  • Buitepos (open 07:00-24:00)
  • Wenela (open 06:00-18:00)
  • Ngoma (open 07:00-18:00)
  • Mata Mata (open 08:00-16:30)
  • Sendelingsdrift (open 08:00-16:30)
  • Dobe (open 07:00-16:30)
  • Impalila/Kasane (open 07:00-17:00)
  • Oshikango (open  08:00-19:00)
  • Katitwe (open  08:00-18:00)
  • Velloorsdrift (open  08:00-16:30)
  • Klein Manasse (open 08:00-16:30)
  • Oranjemund (open 06:00-22:00)
  • Ruacana (open 08:00-19:00)
  • Omahenene (open 08:00-19:00)
  • Muhembo (open 06:00-18:00)
  • Hohlweg (open 08:00-16:30)

For more information visit the Road Fund Administration.